Posted in Reflection

Visual Language in Games

My previous post looked at how colour schemes balance an image and how the use of classic colour schemes in moving image is pleasing and non-obtrusive to viewers. There are times in moving image where you don’t want the scene to feel balanced, for example, when you want to draw the audiences eye to a certain area, one of the most obvious of these is in the visual language in video games. Visual language in games is where game developers need to highlight what moves to make in a game so that a player does not become stagnant or confused.

My day job is as an artist for computer games, so visual language is something I struggle with on a daily basis. I’m always trying to make my scenes feel balanced, harmonious and cohesive but often I’m told it’s not clear enough what you are meant to be doing, and so often the solution, for example, is to make all the jumpable areas bright red, or to use high saturation in some way to draw a players eye to the area.

Leave a comment